Showing posts with label Daily. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Daily. Show all posts

Saturday, December 26, 2009

With Age Comes Wisdom

Words of the aged came from Jellybean's mouth this morning as she spoke to her brother...

Let me recount this incredibly wise {and cute} conversation went.

Jellybean to Bug: (as she was vaccuming) Bug, let me tell you something that I learned when I was like 7 or younger. The vaccum is too small to suck you up. It can't eat you so don't worry; you are too big.

Isn't it great when siblings share knowledge like that?

I know it warmed my heart.

Friday, November 27, 2009

Fiesty!

Jellybean was playing a bit of Wii boxing last night. Here is what I heard during her match.

Oh! Yeah! You want a piece of me? You want a piece of the birthday girl?

C'mon! How do you like that? And that? How 'bout that?

Huh? Is that making you hungry?

You wanna knuckle samich?

Huh? You hungry? I can give it to ya!

You likin' that?

I'm not even breakin' a sweat here! You're probably tellin' your friends I'm a pro. Heh, bro! Take it!

You can't take down the birthday girl!

I'm all over this thang! Oh yeah, that's right. Take that! Gettin' beat by a girl!

5...6...7...8...9...10

and that's a knockout!

Suckah!!!!

Oh yeah, people, she is fiesty!

Monday, October 12, 2009

Get 'er done

We got back from a nice weekend visit with BigB's mom and Dad and were also able to spend the afternoon with the kids (except LilB and Tuff) on Sunday.

Upon getting home I got the milk, bread and things we need for the beginning of the week, got the lizards home from their babysitter's (aka Dad & Jude's), did laundry (there is only 2 loads left to do!), moved some more stuff for the newest bedroom switch project, got the kids' lunches made while making supper and BigB got several rooms of carpet cleaned. Ugh! Have I ever mentioned how much I dislike carpet? I do...

But we are getting things done here. Kids helped cleaning the kitchen table and setting it and getting their laundry put away...

Can't wait for it all to be done...There will be some painting to do soon.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

I know it's not Feb 2

but, this little ground hog is popping her head out to say...

Wow! What a week this has been! I watched my brother marry a wonderful lady on Saturday. I laughed; I cried. It moved me, Bob!

No, really, it did. It was truly one of the most beautiful and moving weddings I have ever been to.

Sunday we had a good friend over for supper and later on in the evening a couple of very dear friends came over for coffee.

Monday was the kids' first music lessons and boy oh boy, did Bug ever make a good first impression. He walked in with his hair tosseled and held with gel, black dress pants and orange shirt and his "leather" biker jacket, flipping his fancy red drumsticks around. One of the people in the room stated that they figured he had to be the coolest kid they had ever seen. I think they may be right, at least as far as 6 year old boys go.

I've been training my replacement all week and now that time has come; tomorrow is my last day. We are all going for lunch tomorrow as a farewell to myself and another girl who left last Friday. Vietnamese food! Yummy!!!

On Saturday two of my dear friends are getting married and I have been doing the decorations. I have done my very best but I am simply hoping that it looks as nice as they deserve. I want nothing short of the best for them.

I am still missing my girl and think of her often.

The other day Bug had a hard time sleeping because Jewel kept jumping on his window sill in the middle of the night and he insisted that she was tring to run away from us just like Rush did. Needless to say, he and Jellybean have been finding this incredibly difficult.

BigB is gone for another week next week and he has been in school all this. We haven't seen much of him but plan to have a nice family time after church on Sunday. it may involve pizza...delish!

Oh! I just saw my shadow and so I must retreat back into my hole and hide for a bit more. See you after the wedding - perhaps with pictures...

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Whole Lotta Shakin' Adjusting Goin' On

Wow, I have been quiet! I think this is probably the quietest I have been, well, ever.

Sorry about that.

There's just been a lot of adjusting going on in our home, in our lives.

Adjusting to BigB being gone for days at a time, in communities where we can't reach him.

Adjusting to Rush being gone.

Adjusting to the fragile emotional state of Jellybean and Bug right now, as they adjust.

Adjusting to the new school year (for the kids and for BigB).

Adjusting to adding music lessons, for both children, into our schedule.

Adjusting to my needing a new job. (I have a couple of places I would like to apply but I need to be able to find someone to "pawn" my kids off on for a bit - can't be applying for work with 2 kids in tow.)

Adjusting to the busyness of the last week and the upcoming week.

Adjusting to remembering to care for the two lizards we have inherited.

Did I mention adjusting to Rush being gone?
We may know where she is and we may know that she is being taken care of but, that only eases the worry and doesn't aid much at all in the "dealing" with the fact that she is gone.

It's has simply been a time of stretching and adjusting and trusting in God that He is in control and all will be as it is supposed to be.

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Baby's got back nerve

A couple days ago Jellybean informed me that she saw the next door neighbor in is yard as she took the garbage out.

"I decided I needed to talk to him, Mama."

"You did?" (Um, this doesn't sound good. What did she say?! What did she say?!) What did you say, baby?"

"I just let him know that I go to bed at 8:30 and that his kids are too loud outside and they keep me awake real late and maybe he might wanna keep them in the house after 8:00 and put them to bed, please."

(Oh dear Lord, she's telling this man how to parent his children. He is going to be offended. Red alert! We have an offended neighbor! What are we gonna...Heh! Good for her for at least making her needs known and for not just accepting it as the way things have to be. She did say 'please'.)
"Um? Honey, you probably shouldn't have said that to him, ok? But I am glad that you were polite in trying to fix your problem; I am also glad that you tried to fix your problem. You DID say 'please' right? I mean, you told him nicely?"

"Yes, mama I was nice to him."

What do you think? Do I make them cookies or pretend like it never happened?

Because it's a Special Day

That's right today is a special day. June 24th always has been. My grandpa was born on June 24, 1900 in Odda, Norway; he was my best friend. He had twinkling, mischievious eyes that sparkled when he was up to something (just like my very own Bug's do) and he loved to hear you laugh. He loved to steal our desserts by fabricating some kind of story of some animal or another coming down the driveway in order to distract us. He pulled on his earlobe to hear you even though he had hearing aides and he always had to do something to be helping out even when his years failed his body. He always said "Oh ye" and the way he said my name, with his Norwegian accent, I can't even begin to describe how it made me feel (What did he call me? Anyula) His feet were extremely ticklish and his sense of humor and love of laughing and jokes made his eyes shine like a young boy. I loved his eyes; there was so much love and life in them and sometimes I find myself just staring into his eyes through the pictures I have of him on my living room wall. Grandpa always told me that the eyes were the window to the soul; he had a beautiful soul and today was his birthday which is why...

...today marks my 9th anniversary. I have been married to BigB for 9 years now and it has been rocky and it hasn't always been sunshine and roses smiling upon us. There were times when it seemed like this moment would not have gotten here but it did and we are changed. We are closer than ever before and it is only getting better. We have learned how to honor each other properly; we have learned that the closer we draw to God the closer we seem to draw to each other. We have learned that love is not a noun but an action and we have learned to step into our proper roles as man and wife. We have learned what proper submission is and how it pertains to us and each other.

I love being married to my husband; he provides for us as best as he can in so many ways and on so many levels. He has been a great father to my children. I am very blessed to have him (as he is to have me). It says in the Bible that marriage is "when two become one" and I can tell you taht the rocky parts of our marriage were when we fought being one and sought to be our own, when we were trying to go on our own path and drag the other with us. We are now walking, in unison, down the same path, to the same goal, focused on the same finish line and we are SO MUCH closer to being one.

I can't wait to see what this next year holds for the two of us because we both know that we will continue to grow closer. So, I love you, hun. Happy Anniversary!

You would think that would be enough to make this day special right? But that isn't all. Today is my "sister's" mom's birthday. Huh? My "sister". C'mon, you all have one! You all have that friend that is not a friend but a sister; the friend that time, distance or other circumstances does not change or alter your relationship because it is on a different level than friend. Anyway, today is my "sister's" mom's birthday. Her name is Judy and she is a beautiful woman! She really truly is. She is gorgeous but aside from that she is a beautiful woman. Remember the eye thing my grandpa told me? Judy is beautiful, not just outwardly, but her soul is beautiful. She is kind, full of life and is just an all-round great lady. To Rush, she is a grandma and always will be, and, although, we don't see her much anymore (due to our moving) we think of her often...especially today. Happy Birthday (Grandma B) Judy! We ♥ you!

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

It's Been A Couple Days

What can I say? I have been busy with lots of little things and some pretty important things like Friday night's CRPS awards, visiting with my mom on Saturday, teaching Children's Church on Sunday morning and attending CRTC's grad on Sunday night.

The kids at CRPS have all done so well this year and it was great to see them get recognition for their hardwork. (I'll only tell of my three since none of the people who read here know any of the other kids.) Rush & Bug got certificates with a character trait on them and a trophy; Jellybean got this as well. She also received trophies for highest Junior average in Social Studies and in Science, as well as getting a medal for memorizing all of her memory verses. We then had a fun time of food, fellowship and cake to celebrate the kids hardwork.

Saturday morning my mom came for a visit; she joined me at music practice to take a listen to us and the two of us headed for some mom/daughter time and hit a local restaurant for some nachos and laughing. She shared supper with the whole family, watched Fireproof with us and then headed back home.

I had a bit of work to do on my Children's Church lesson for Sunday morning before going to bed. Children's Church was great! I taught on "Quality time with 'Dad'" given that it was Father's Day and some of the kids had a pretty firey time of prayer at the end of class. It was great to watch these young kids crying out for God to touch them in powerful ways and to give them the discipline to spend that quality time with Him.

We took BigB out for lunch/supper between service and the CRTC grad ceremony. Proud moments that night too. A lot of people overcame having not been in school for almost longer than I have been around or learning disorders and other situations as well. I got my marks from the first semester that I had taken classes (I put the schooling on hold to be with the kids more right now) and I ended up with a 92.7%; I was pretty pleased with that and I look forward to when I do go back.

Today, we are counting down hours as LilB is on his way to our house from KC as we speak and should be here sometime tonight. It is going to be very nice to see him in person as he has been going through some difficulties and it will just be reassuring for this mom to see her son in person and see that he is ok.

Tonight Rush & I are going to a barbeque for the music team and BigB and I are in the midst of planning tomorrow's youth night: water ballons and watermelon to go along with BigB speaking ("Being Drenched in the Spirit - can't wait to hear that one).

So, that's it in a nutshell. It's been fun and I will put pictures up of the past events and the soon-to-be events. I just am running a bit short on time right now.

Friday, June 19, 2009

One word...Aaaahhhhh!

Spa day with my co-workers was fabulous, wonderful, relaxing and do-over-and-over again enjoyable! Rush & I plan to go for some mom and daughter chill-out time closer to her 16th birthday.

What did I do? I relaxed to the point of sleeping during my Iron Mineral Body Scrub & Aloe Wrap (aaaahhhh); after which I enjoyed several relaxing minutes (about 15) of solitude in the wet sauna, some laughter and stories in their therapeutic pool, deliriously relaxing time in the infrared sauna (again about 15 minutes {apparently this aids in weight loss - yay!}), ate some cheese, crackers, grapes and chocolate and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing decor and atmosphere they have lovingly created at Serenity Spa.

What is there to say but, aaaahhhhh.....

Unfortunately someone took some blurry pictures but I am totally relaxed during my Mineral Scrub and Aloe Wrap.

What a fabulous afternoon. I am so looking forward to being able to spend some great, relaxing time just me and Rush here.


...and here

...and probably here.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Dear WiiFit Personal Trainer

I hate you. Oh, yes, I do! I hate you! I hate you! I hate you! You may think that 'hate' is an awful, strong word but compared to the other two words (despise and loathe) that ran through my head this morning, hate is rather kind.

You are so deceitful, you and your computer generated flat abbed-thin thighed-shapely armed-self. You tricked me with "fun" activities like slalam skiing, ski jumps, hula hoops, dance step aerobics and sun salutations until, there I sit 50 minutes later wondering when I had started to sweat. Your soothing, gentle voice, encouraging me, drove me to 50 minutes of exercise through games and I woke, this morning, feeling muscles that probably haven't worked since 1989. How dare you trick me that way! You seemed so nice and I fell for it! My, but you are the cunning one, aren't you!?

So... I guess that's it then. There's nothing left to say except...

...I'll see you tonight same wii time, same wii channel. Oh, and this time I promise to not come to you eating a Dairy Queen medium dipped cone. I saw the evil eye you gave me.

Until then I sign off, only grumbling slightly under my breath at you becasue I truly ♥ you; I'm just an ungrateful wretch.

Friday, June 12, 2009

It's Been Kinda Dry at our House

But boy, oh boy, are we ever glad. It has been a time of celebrations and high-fives, and a time of rest for our washer & dryer. You see, my 5 year old has had difficulty in the wee hours (no pun intended but now that I type it out it is very funny) of the night waking enough to realize he has to go to the bathroom.

We tried every trick we could think of:
-No liquid after 6 (or if he was really thirsty, we limited him to a medicine dropper full - I only kid on that but we would seriously only give him a mouthful or two, if he was very thristy).
That didn't work.

-We tried the let's be cruel and wake our poor boy in the middle of the night to drag his zombie-butt out of bed, somehow manage to steer him to the bathroom and coach him into remembering how to take off his underwear (or where they even go) in his sleepy, half awake, mostly comatos state just so he could go to the bathroom and wake up dry! (Whew! Must take a breath after that run-on sentence).
Guess what? That didn't work either. Most times we just wound up frustrating ourselves and confusing him because after sleeping soundly for 4 hours he understood about as much English as an undiscovered tribe of pigmys (Do you think I am kidding?! Nah uh!) adn I usually had a toilet or a bathroom floor to clean the next day because ones aim is not so good when their eyes are closed and they don't comprehend their native language.

-We tried the "let's make sure he goes to the bathroom just before he goes to bed" route and...
...That didn't work either.

-We tried every possible combination of the above attempts and came up short or, as the case may be, wet. Wet and disappointed and embarassed; well, only Bug did.

For a stretch there the only laundry we were washing was his bedding and it was getting frustrating for all involved - including and especially our handsome, young man who was trying his very best to not have accidents and would pray every night to God to help him.

Our morning routine changed considerably: get him out of wet clothes, wash him up, strip the bed, leave it to air dry, hopefully throw his bedding in the washer right then (if we had the time and if not right after work), spray his dried bed with febreeze, wait for that to dry, make his bed and know that it would start over in less than 12 hours.

We have now had 2 weeks of dryness in our house! Bug is so happy and he is so thankful that God has been helping him to not have any accidents. Every morning he wakes up and joyfully tells us how many days it has been and we all celebrate with him - not because it means less work for us but, because he is so thrilled.

So, when I say our house has been kinda dry, it's a good thing (no Martha Stewart reference implied).

Friday, June 05, 2009

Little Tidbits of Yesterday and Today, Yonder and Now, Past and Present...Okay, I'm done!

Last night we had ourselves a NICE supper; in fact, Bug commented several times "God, thanks for this wonderful supper". BigB grilled up some steaks (and cooked them perfectly to each individual liking) and I baked some potatoes and steamed some veggies. We opened a can of beans to go with it all and, yummy, we had a great supper.

I like to put salsa and a little crumbled feta cheese on my baked potato and Bug has develeoped a love for this "white" cheese. As I was crumbling mine onto my potato, Bug asked me if I could get him some. While getting the cheese for him, I asked him where he wanted it; I thought maybe he wanted it crumbled on his potato as well. Well, we almost fell over laughing when he looked at me like I had suddenly sprouted tenticles from my nose and said, "Here" as he wiggled the fingers on his outstretched hand. That boy loves himself some feta!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After supper as Rush did her chores, I joined Bill at the car to "help" him work on the car. I don't know what I did to help or what he was really expecting but I mainly sat on the grass watching him or chasing Jellybean & Bug down the street just to hear their giggles of glee as I reached and tickled them. When we thought it may be fixed, he & I took a drive down the highway to see if it was a success.

No. We have checked the computer code to see what the problem is for the "service engine" light to keep coming on and the only part it says we need has been replaced but there is still something not quite right as the car still hesitates and seems like it doesn't get enough gas to carry on, occassionally.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been trying to find a dress to wear to my brother's wedding this fall and I could never find anything that I really liked in this little town but my very good friend works at Reitmans and she told me that the minute their dresses came in, she would let me know. They have come in and yesterday after the 'mechanicing", we stopped by to see what we could find.

I tried on 3. This one(The link doesn't take you to the direct dress so I typed the name for you to scroll through the 5 dresses until you see the correct name) (cowl neck sleeveless dress). One they don't have a picture of and this one (rose printe dress). I really liked the purplish one but BigB thought it looked too boring and dull so we chose this rose print dress with some turquoise accessories (a thick bangle bracelet, scarf and earrings and I will probably just wear a nice silver chain); I am pretty happy with my find.

It is on hold at Reitmans right now and I will go pick it up, to be my very own, next Friday when BigB gets paid. I won't even need to buy shoes to go with it because I all ready a own two cute pairs that will go perfectly (just a matter of deciding now) so I may get some opinions as to which would be best closer to the wedding.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To celebrate our shopping success we went to Dairy Queen for a chocolate dipped cone. Yummy! And took a little drive in the country dirt road outskirts of town.

By the time we picked J1 up at work to take her to her house, I was beat from the day and I washed my face, put on my jammies and was in bed and sound asleep before 10.

I fell asleep thinking about our J and wondering how her graduation went, hopping that she will send us some pictures so we can at least pretend we were able to be there and thinking how very proud I am of her. She is now an LPN (licensed practical nurse)! We really can't wait to get this car road worthy (of going distances) so we can get out to see her and P.B., see their new house (we've only seen pictures) and have a nice visit with them.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tonight is dress rehearsal for my friends' wedding! Tomorrow they are getting married! Yay! Our worship team is going to be singing at the wedding; I think that's kind of cool. I have never done that before and it is really great that we can help be a special part of their wedding that way.

Just don't go thinking I am The Wedding Singer or anything; although...I can badly sing 80's songs with the best of them.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, and just because I know you will all be rivoted by this information, the skin on my face is SO incredibly happy with me since my Wednesday night purchase ( I ran out last week). Last night I think I even heard it sigh! (I also picked up some fun new colors.)

And to keep with the taking care of oneself, I get to go, with some of the girls from work, to a spa for some spoiling and I just may look a lot like this that afternoon! We will also be getting to participate in their therapeutic pool, steam sauna, infared sauna, chair massage, tea buffet and a do it yourself facial. This joyous occasion takes place on June 18 and my harsh Canadian winter skin is screaming for this to happen.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, June 04, 2009

Girls' Night Out

By the end of the day yesterday I had decided I didn't want to go but I have a dear husband who loves me and gave me a gentle kick out of the nest (or the mild pity-party as it may have been). I had decided that sitting at home was going to be WAY more fun and beneficial for me than going out, after all I went out to Krisann's bridal shower the night before and, apparently that means, I am destined to stay at home for the rest of the week bound to the washer and dryer. (C'mon, it made sense in my head during my mild pity-party and, heh, who has a party and doesn't serve refreshments? Apparently I do because I failed to offer myself any kind of appetizer or gooey chocolate treat. Some hostess I am!)

So I hopped on over to my friend Char's house and we headed off, Char, J1 and I, too Loretta's and then off to the party. There were only 7 of us, not including the MaryKay lady and it turned out to be a blast but what else could you expect when you get 3 Newfies, 2 Indians and 2 Cowboys in the same room? We laughed, we primped, we preened and we looked, dare I say, gorgeous!
So, a big thanks to BigB for kicking me out of my house and "allowing" me to spend money! Yay for MaryKay and for good friends who are ready to compliment each other on how fabulous we all looked. Shazam!

The bride-to-be, Krisann (center), her mama, Rose and J1.

Here I am, making a brief appearance (it happens here sometimes; I am on occassion in front, and not behind, the camera) on my blog, pre-makeup but post skin care and foundation. Oh and I know I said I am glow-in-the-dark white but I seemed to have been proven wrong; I din't have to use the lightest foundation in Ivory, and was, in fact, Beige 300! And we haven't even had any summer weather yet! A'RIGHT!!!

Our fearless (you'd have to be to take on this group of friends) leader.

The trouble-makers My friends, Char and Loretta.After make-up (including bronzer, for. the. first. time. ever.) Too bad I always have such squinty eyes when I smile.


I have gorgeous friends, inside and out!


The hostess with the mostess, for this month anyway...the lovely J1!
Rose lookin' swe-et!
We had loads of fun and there is another party in July! *Tingle* We got a sneak peak of what the special is and I am now on my way to the ditches and garbage cans to get me some pop cans for recycle and save my mula!

Friday, May 29, 2009

Oh, what a night

Bug was pretty pumped to get on his bike again; he had had to wait so BigB could adjust it.

Jellybean enjoyed her freedom of skipping up and down the block, after I "finally allowed" her to stop helping me pick up the neighbor's cigarette butts (ew!).


On the Rotary Trail not too far from the river; it was a nice walk, especially through the wooded area.

Bug got a little mischievious adventuresome and wondered off the trail into the swampy area and got savagely attacked mixed up in a bush of thistles.
Getting a bit of squishy face loving from Rush, which left me resembling a 108 year old lady with, apparently, no teeth. If I had any say in this, this picture wouldn't be on here. Oh wait, I do; it's MY blog but, meh, I put bad pictures of the rest of my family on here - I'm pretty sure that falls into the "it's-only-fair" category.


We went trick riding on a whale; Bug & Jellybean riding double.
and...
Bug doing some stunt riding on the back of Sammy the Whale.


Rumor has it that you will swing faster if you close your eyes. (This tidbit of information brought to you by Jellybean and since she is a jellybean, and therefore, sweet, it HAS to be the truth. RIGHT?


This moment of over-acting brought to you by William Shatner Rush. That girl is a real hoot when she wants to be. Oh boy!


We had a great time after supper. Jellybean & I worked in the yard - mostly she asked if she was done and then got completely distracted when she was able to pick up and play with her first earth worm of the year. Bug rode his red bike and Jellybean skipped until we were all ready for the walk. We headed out to the Rotary Trail, which makes it nice walking with city kids and stopped in several little playgrounds for a bit of fun and so I could snap a few pictures (the only one willing of being my guinea pig subject was Jellybean; I fought tooth and nail sneakily snapped pictures of the rest)

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Love is in the air

At least, according to Bug, it's fragrance is. This morning, as he was sitting on my knee during morning devotions, he nuzzled his nose into my neck, looked up at me and, through glistening eyes and a big, bright smile said, "Mommy, you smell like love."

That's a little surprising, considering I am wearing the same perfume today that caused him to say this to me just a few months ago. But then, maybe fruit loops do smell like love to a 5 year old boy.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

I am no stranger to strangeness

but this really took the cake...

I got a text on my cell from an unknown number in a different province stating 'Call me.'

I text back, "Who is this?"

About a half an hour later comes the reply, "Your ex husband. Lol."

#1 My ex-husband would have no idea what my cell number is.
#2 He would not be asking me to call him; we haven't heard from him in years.
#3 He would not use the term 'LOL' in a conversation with me (and I am almost certain with no one else either).

I text back saying, "I know you aren't my ex husband. Who is this and what do you want?"

The reply comes back, "Nothing I guess."

So I text back because I am really wondering which of my friends is playing a trick on me at this point and I say, "Please tell me who this is because I am really getting curious."

About 10 minutes later a call comes in and a strange man is having a conversation with me; I assure him that I am not his ex-wife and he begins to attempt small talk with me. By small talk I mean this man tried to spin some charm on me (I can totally see why the guy has an ex-wife to be calling).
"Who is this and are you in P.A.?" he says to me.

"You called me, buddy; I think you need to tell me who you are."

"I think I got the numbers mixed up."

"That's all right have a..."

"Why don't you tell me your name?"

"Sir, I am at work."

"Oh, you work?"

"Yes."

"You're probably married off too then, heh?"

"Yes, and happily."

"Ok well have a good day."

Is this the newest form of the dating game or something? Would you believe me if I told you strange things like this happen to me quite often? Would you? Would you believe they don't even catch me off guard anymore?

I wonder if I should call that guy's ex-wife and let her know he's looking for her - just to give her a head's up...

Monday, May 25, 2009

Not Me Monday





This blog carnival is courtesy of MckMama; why don't you head on over to her blog to see what she & the other mamas have not done this past week?


As for me, I did not get to go for lunch with a dear friend who I haven't seen in years. We didn't have a blast & didn't realize how similar we still are to each other even though we are both so different from who we were in high school.


I didn't forget my camera and am, therefore, pictureless of this wonderful lunch date because I am always prepared. This is why you seriously will not see a picture of it on this blog. You really won't.


We didn't get a car on Saturday (that needs some work but is a good car) and I wasn't the slightest disappointed that it wasn't a minivan or a truck and I most certainly didn't get upset at first. I am much too mature to be upset at actually having a running vehicle just because it isn't exactly what I am hoping for.

I really don't know anything about the car other than it is a Grand Am. No, really; I don't!)

I didn't decide to get serious about eating better while eating hawaiian pizza and drinking coke (albeit a thin crust pizza); I am always health conscious and only put wholesome, healthy foods to these lips.

I didn't lose my voice from singing and praying at our conference this past week. Not me. Why would I do that? Certainly not because the Bible tells us to love God with ALL our mind, soul & strength.

I am certainly not looking forward to a restful night at home now that conference is over. Upon saying that, I am certainly NOT sad that conference is over.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

And...that's a no go, Captain

A no-go, that is, on the truck. Why? Because it is HER truck and SHE wants to keep it but that is her perogative and all it means is that there is something better for us out there...somewhere.

You just have to wonder about people's selfishness sometimes; especially those that claim to be Christians. I am not judging merely based on the fact that she won't sell a vehicle that doesn't ever get used; I have known this family for going on 10 years and I can honestly tell you this is based on years of fruit production - or lack there of...so I am not entirely sure why this surprises me.

I am trying to not feel let down or disappointed or frustrated as I do know that something will come our way. I am feeling this way because, I think because there is so much unknowing and even though it is in God's trustworthy hands and He is taking care of it, I hate having to be reliant on other people to get my family to school & work, get groceries to feed my family, get them to church...and I know that is pride and I am trying to rise above it and I know I will (I also know if my High School English teacher read this blog, she would kill me for that last sentence).

I think I am just dealing with the fresh sting of this knowledge and with trying to figure out how some people can be so selfish...

Dr., I have an itch...or an ulcer

Honestly I do but not THAT kind of an itch. I need no creams, ointments and what-not; what I need is to be off from work around 1:00 PM. so I can be home with my children. I can tell you that I really dislike stat holidays.

I am sure you are screaming, "What?!" at your monitors right now but I do. It's like they are put there to tease me or taunt me. "You get your kids today but, tomorrow, nah, not so much."

I loved being home yesterday when Bug got home from school. Yes, I am aware yesterday was a stat but the kids had school as we switched their holiday from yesterday to this coming Friday to accomodate for our conference. I loved being able to give him his lunch, to make sure he was eating it all (& not just the Wagon Wheel) and to get his sweet, willing-to-learn help as I made lasagnas and sandwiches and breakfast burritos (teaching math as we went along). I adored having him scooch over and snuggle in, making sure there was no space between us, to snuggle just for a minute and to hear Jellybean's sing-songy voice call out as she burst through the door to see if she could have an after-school snack.

It was my joy to have supper ready and waiting for my husband as he walked in the door after a long, hard day's work and to know that I had made Rush's after-school moments easier with a lasagna ready and waiting for her in the fridge to just pop in the oven for tonight's meal. I felt so capable as a parent knowing that, when Rush has a morning, like this morning, where it is painful for her to lift her sleeping body from her bed (due only to teenageritis & a head cold) or her hair or make-up takes a bit more time perfecting, there are breakfast burritos in my freezer ensuring she will have a nutritional breakfast. (By the way, those burritos cost less than $0.50 each to make.)

I don't want to not work because I feel that, as in the past, I would feel poorly about "not contributing" to the family's financial situation (not that SAHM need to feel that way but more because I can't get the not working thing totatlly out of my system, yet.)but, I don't want to be at work when my kids are at home. In fact, it feels like an ulcer in my spirit when I know they are at home and I am at work.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Wok with Yan LoveMom

If I weren't sitting on it and, therefore, knew I still had it, I'd swear (except I rarely ever do) that I worked my butt off. Now if only that saying went more like "I think I worked my gut off", that would be really cool!

Anyway, there was no sleeping in for this mama today. Kids had school despite it being a stat holiday here; we switched the day off at the school to correspond with our conferece coming up so these guys get Friday off.

Got the kids ready & off to school & BigB went with them to do more work on the building project. I had church work of my own today but I could do it from home; in fact, I needed to do it from home. I was doing some of the cooking for conference today and made 2 huge lasagnas. While I was at it, I thought I would make 2 family sized lasagnas as well, one for tomorrow and one for whenever. I made all the school sandwiches that I had room for (19 sandwiches later) and I made 11 breakfast burritos to freeze as well. I had a roast in the slow cooker for supper and we had some friends over; the younger kids at hot dogs,potato salad and watermelon and the older people had shredded bbq roast beef sandwiches.

Bug, J5 & J6 had SO much fun running around, terrorizing Jellybean & J4 just like good younger brothers do and Jellybean & J4 ran from them screaming like good older sisters do. They always have so much fun together.

Now I sit. Lunches are made (all but a piece of fruit) for the kids; I still need to make Rush & mine but I have this piano tied to the butt I thought I had worked off and I am feeling a smidge lazy.

Missing Rush a lot too; she was working at the group home again but should be home sometime soon. This whole not seeing much of her thing sucks! For all you moms who just have small children at home freeze dry them or something so they don't grow up on you. I plan on freeze drying Jellybean & Bug tomorrow...

...you think I'm kidding...